India Northern Territory


Territorial Leaders: Colonels Vanlalfela Chawnghlut and Khupchawng Ropari (1st January 2023)

Territorial Commander: Colonel Vanlalfela Chawnghlut ( 1st January 2023)
Territorial President of Women's Ministries: Colonel Khupchawng Ropari (1st January 2023)
Chief Secretary: Lieutenant Colonel Andrews D. Christian (1st July 2023)
Territorial Secretary for Women's Ministries: Lieutenant Colonel Sunita Christian (1st July 2023)


Territorial Headquarters:
H15, Green Park Extension, New Delhi 110 016, India
Tel address: Salvation New Delhi; tel [91] (011) 2651 2394 ; fax: [91] (011) 26516912/ 26196296;
Shortly after arriving in India in 1882, Booth-Tucker visited major cities in northern India, including Allahabad, Delhi, Lucknow, Benares (Varanasi), and Kolkata (Calcutta). Rural work was established later and operations were extended to Bihar and Odisha (Orissa).

The boundaries of the Indian Northern Territory have changed over the years; there have been headquarters in Gurdaspur, Bareilly, Lucknow and Kolkata, and more recently Delhi. In 1947, part of the territory became Pakistan.The present territory was established on 1 June 1991.

The territory is comprised of: the States of Bihar, Chattisgarh, Harayana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Odisha (Orissa), Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarkhand, West Bengal, the Union Territories of Delhi, Chandigarh, and the Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

'The Salvation Army' in Hindi, Punjabi, and Urdu: Mukti Fauj

Languages in which the gospel is preached: Bengali, Burmese, Dogri, English, Hindi, Kui, Oriya, Punjabi, Santhali

Periodicals: Home League Senior and Junior Yearly (Hindi and English); Mukti Samachar (Hindi and Punjabi), The Officer (Hindi); Yuva Sipai (Hindi).