Territorial Leaders: Colonels Vanlalfela Chawnghlut and Khupchawng Ropari (1st November 2020)

Territorial Commander: Colonel Vanlalfela Chawnghlut ( 1st November 2020)
Territorial President of Women's Ministries: Colonel Khupchawng Ropari (1st November 2020)

Chief Secretary: Lieut-Colonel John William Polometla (1st November 2020)
Territorial Secretary for Women's Ministries: Lieut-Colonel Ratna Sundari Polimetla (1st November 2020)

Territorial Headquarters:

Sheikh Hafizuddin Marg, Byculla, Mumbai 400 008, India
Postal address: PO Box 4510, Mumbai 400 008
Tel address: Salvation Byculla Mumbai; tel [91] (022) 2308 4705/ 23071140;
fax: [91] (022) 2309 9245



The Salvation Army began its work in Bombay (later Mumbai) in 1882 as a pioneer party led by Major Frederick Tucker and including Veerasoriya, a Sri Lankan convert, invaded India with the love and compassion of Jesus. Bombay (Mumbai) was the capital of Bombay province, which included Gujarat and Maharashtra, and the first headquarters in India was in a rented building at Khatwadi. Among the early converts was Walter Keil, a burgher from Ceylon. Within a few weeks, with the adopted name of Yesu Patham, he was engaged in full-time service. He became the first officer of the territory to be admitted to the Order of the Founder.

Evangelistic work in Gujarat began with an invitation from Ranipur village near Ahmedabad.

Various models of administration were tried for the work in Gujarat and Maharashtra until the India Western Territory was established in 1921.

States included in the territory: Gujarat, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan

'The Salvation Army' in Gujarati and Marathi : Mukti Fauj

Languages in which the gospel in preached: English, Gujarati, Hindi, Marathi, Tamil

Periodicals : Home League Quarterly (Gujarati and Marathi); The Officer (Gujarati and Marathi); The War Cry (Gujarati and Marathi); The Young Soldier (Gujarati and Marathi)