In 1896 three Salvationists went to Kenya to work on the building of a new railway and made their witness while based at the Taru Camp. The first official meetings were held in Nairobi in April 1921, led by Lieut-Colonel and Mrs James Allister Smith. The first cadets were trained in 1923. On 1 March 2008, the Kenya Territory was divided into two and the Kenya East Territory and Kenya West Territory were created.

Territorial Headquarters

Marist Avenue, Karen, Nairobi, Kenya

Postal address

The Salvation Army - Kenya East Territory
PO Box 24927 
Karen 00502

Tel: +254 [020] 240 3260

Countries included in the territory: Kenya,

Languages in which the gospel is preached: English, Kiswahili and a number of tribal languages