In 1896 three Salvationists went to Kenya to work on the building of a new railway and made their witness while based at the Taru Camp. The first official meetings were held in Nairobi in April 1921, led by Lieut-Colonel and Mrs James Allister Smith. The first cadets were trained in 1923. On 1 March 2008, the Kenya Territory was divided into two and the Kenya East Territory and Kenya West Territory were created.


The territory aligns both its mission and goals with the international Salvation Army. As a territory, ongoing measures are happening to ensure optimum ministry impact.

Growth was realised in 2020 with the creation of one new district, two new divisions and 29 corps were elevated from outpost status.

The officers training college (OTC) continues to advance. we are pleased that discussions are presently ongoing whereby the OTC will be registered as an official learning institution under the Kenyan Government. Also, discussions are taking place as to the feasibility of affiliating with the Kenya Methodists University in an effort to elevate the OTC to university level learning. Such a move will allow cadets to work towards a degree-level credential or to continue on the normal track of certificate-level credentials.

To reinforce strategies of gender equity and leadership development towards a sustainable future, the Women's Ministries department initiated a capacity building programme for all female officers to ensure spiritual and competency expansion, thus allowing them to grow in their faith and leadership capacity. In conjunction with IHQ, an initiative surrounding human sexuality has led to the beginning of courageous conversations in several divisions under the 'Let's Talk' forum, led by the newly appointed territorial health officer.

While the coronavirus pandemic saw many regular ministries cease, it also opened doors for new opportunities. The pandemic was fairly contained in the western part of Kenya, yet many people were adversely affected. The territory partnered with both country and regional levels of government to ensure a relevant approach to help meet the needs of vulnerable groups. A THQ response team facilitated community education and awareness activities, and government called upon the territory's Kolanya Health Centre to become an available quarantine venue for patients with COVID-19.

As a result of church closures due to the pandemic, many officers became creative in communicating the gospel to their congregation and beyond. To maintain spiritual care and access to hearing God's Word, while many Salvationists grieved the loss of worship gatherings the territory's Facebook page was used by the Public Relations department to provide online worship. Thousands of viewers tuned in each week.

 This year has seen significant advances in new technology. The territory migrated to Office 365 for all administrative work and the Business Department embraced IFAS/Netsuite for all financial matters ensuring a more efficient and effective level of stewardship and accountability. 

As a territory, we have embarked on a strategic planning process which consulted with more than 1,800 front line stakeholders in information gathering sessions. The final result will be a five-year strategic plan to guide ministry and mission initiatives.


Territorial Leaders

Commissioner Stephen Chepkurui- Territorial Commander (1 January 2017)

Commissioner Grace Chepkurui - Territorial President for Women's Ministries

Lieut-Colonel Luka Khayumbi - Chief Secretary (1 August 2020)

Lieut-Colonel Rasoa Khayumbi - Territorial Secretary for Women's Ministries


Territorial Headquarters

Mumia Highway Road




Postal address

PO Box 660

Kakamega 50100



Officers - 1,094 (active - 859  retired - 235)       Auxillary Captains - 25

Cadets - 431                 Employees - 62

Corps - 566                 Outposts - 854

Senior Soldiers - 128,874    Adherents - 253   Junior Soldiers - 126,888


Tel: +254 020 249 3210


Languages in which the gospel is preached: English, Kiswahili and a number of tribal and regional languages