www.salvationarmy.org.sg | www.salvationarmy.org.my | www.salvationarmy.org.mm

In May 1935 Salvation Army work began in Singapore. It spread to Penang (1938), Melaka and Ipoh (1940), Kuching (Sarawak) (1950), Kuala Lumpur (1966) and Kota Kinabalu (Sabah) (1996).

‘The General of The Salvation Army’ is a ‘corporation sole’ by The Salvation Army Ordinance 1939 in the Straits Settlements; by The Salvation Army (Incorporation) Ordinance 1956 in the Federation of Malaya; and by the Missionary Societies Order 1957 in the Colony of Sarawak.

Adjutant Taran Das (Reuben Moss), who was attached to the Lahore headquarters in India, was appointed to open the work in Burma (now Myanmar) by Commissioner Booth Tucker in January 1915. Myanmar Salvationists have, since 1966, developed their witness and service despite the restriction on reinforcements from overseas. In 1994 Myanmar was joined to the Singapore and Malaysia Command.

The command was elevated to territory status on 1 March 2005.

Thailand became the 134th country in which The Salvation Army is officially at work in June 2023.

Territorial Leadership

Colonel Hary Haran - Territorial Commander

Lieut-Colonel Nigel Cross - Chief Secretary

Lieut-Colonel Stacy Cross - Territorial Secretary for Women's Ministries

Territorial Headquarters

20 Bishan St 22
Singapore 579768

Postal address

Ang Mo Kio Central
PO Box 640
Singapore 915605

Contact us

Tel: [65] 6555 0188