The Army’s work commenced in the Isthmus of Panama (1904), Costa Rica (1907), Cuba (1918), Venezuela (1972), Guatemala (1976), Colombia (1985), El Salvador (1989) Honduras (2000) and Nicaragua (2010).

Legal recognition was given to El Ejército de Salvación by the Republic of Panama (1946), Costa Rica (1975), Guatemala (1978), Colombia (1988) and Honduras (2001). The General of The Salvation Army is a Corporation Sole in Belize (1928). The territory was formed on 1 October 1976, then reformed on 1 September 1998, when Mexico became a command.


Territorial Headquarters: Avenida 11, Calle 20, San José, Costa Rica

Postal address

Apartado Postal 125-1005
Barrio México
San José
Costa Rica

tel: [506] 257-7535
fax: [506] 257-5291

Countries included in the territory: Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Venezuela

Languages in which the gospel is preached: English, Kacchikel, Spanish

Publications: Grito de Guerra (War Cry), Arco Iris Ideas (Home League Ideas)