The first Salvation Army corps was established in Kinshasa in 1934 by Adjutant (later Commissioner) and Mrs Henri Becquet. By decree of Léopold III, Armée du Salut was given legal status, with powers set out in a Deed of Constitution, on 21 February 1936. Work spread to Congo (Brazzaville) in 1937 and 16 years later it became a separate command, later being elevated to territory status.

Congo (Kinshasa) and Angola Territory was renamed on 1 March 2008 when Angola became a command, then became Democratic Republic of Congo Territory on 1 June 2008.

Countries included in the territory: Democratic Republic of Congo

Languages in which the gospel is preached: Chokwe, French, Kikongo, Kituba (Kikongo ya Leta), Lingala, Swahili, Tshiluba, Umbundu

Periodical: Echo d'Espoir

Territorial Leaders

Colonel Graçia Matondo - Territorial Commander

Colonel Lydia Matondo​ - Territorial President for Women's Ministries

Lieut-Colonel Dieudonné Tsilulu - Chief Secretary (1 April 2021)

Lieut-Colonel Philippine Tsilulu - Territorial Secretary for Women's Ministries

Territorial Headquarters

Ave Colonel Ebea 23,
Democratic Republic of Congo

Postal address

Armée du Salut 8636
Kinshasa 1
Democratic Republic of Congo 

Contact us

Tel: +(243) 997 526 050



Officers - 495 (active - 358  retired - 137)       

Cadets - 26                 Employees - 5,458

Corps - 201                 Outposts - 117

Senior Soldiers - 36,613    Adherents - 3,963   Junior Soldiers - 18,149