In 1922 emigrants from villages on the north bank of the Zambezi River working in a mica mine near Urungwe were converted. They carried home the message of salvation to their chief, and established meeting places in their villages. Two years later, Commandant Kunzwi Shava and Lieutenant Paul Shumba were appointed to command the new opening. The Zambia Division in the Rhodesia Territory became the Zambia Command in 1966. In 1988, the Malawi Division was transferred from the Zimbabwe Territory to form the new Zambia and Malawi Territory. The Zambia and Malawi Territory became the Zambia Territory on 1 October 2002 when Malawi became an independent region.

In March 2018, Territorial Commander Colonel Margaret Siamoya was promoted to the rank of commissioner, becoming the first Zambian officer to attain this rank. Soldiers and officers of the territory support her servant leadership.

During 2018 the territory has been implementing the principles of good governance. Six trustee board member - three soldiers and three officers - were approved by IHQ. The chairperson of the board is the Territorial Commander and cabinet members are co-opted as none-voting members. 

Supported by the Territorial Commander, leaders of Women's Ministries encouraged 3,500 women from across the territory to attend a four-day gathering at Chikankata Mission themed `Mission to Serve in the Name of Jesus'. This provided an opportunity for the many women to share in fellowship and worship, bringing transformation to their lives. The celebration resounded with joyful praises, heartfelt supplications and testimonies of God's faithfulness.

The Cathedral of the Holy Cross was the venue for the commissioning of twenty one vibrant cadets if the Joyful Intercessors Session. Following Saturday's commissioning; a celebration meeting was held on Sunday at Libala Temple in Lusaka South East Division. Twenty nine cadets were welcomed to the Messengers of Compassion Session.

More than 2,370 people attended the 2017 Self-Denial ingathering in the new district of Kafue. The territory raised in Zambian Kwacha 1,053,512.90 (approximately £79,000).


Territorial Leaders

Colonel Ian Swan - Territorial Commander (1 April 2019)

Colonel Wendy Swan - Territorial President for Women's Ministries

Lieut-Colonel Ireen Hachamba - Chief Secretary (1 August 2020)

Lieut-Colonel Beauty Zipingani - Territorial Secretary for Women's Ministries (1 August 2020)


Territorial Headquarters

685A Cairo Road




Postal Address

PO Box 34352

Lusaka 10101




Officers - 308 (active - 237 retired - 71)

Employees - 599

Corps - 145                 Outposts - 270

Senior Soldiers - 31,828    Adherents - 1,711   Junior Soldiers - 9,284


tel: +(260) 221 238 291/ 228 327

fax: +(260) 221 226 784 


Country included in the territory: Zambia

Languages in which the gospel is preached: Chibemba, Chinyanja, Chitonga, English, Kaonde, Lozi.