The Salvation Army officially commenced in Papua New Guinea on 31 August 1956 and the first meeting was conducted on Sunday 21 October at the Royal Police Constabulary Barracks in Port Moresby. The first officers appointed to the work there were Senior-Major Keith Baker, Mrs Major Edna Baker and Lieutenant Ian Cutmore.

On 4 July 1994, after 38 years as part of the Australia Eastern Territory, Papua New Guinea became an independent command and on 9 December 2000 was elevated to territory status.

Work began in The Solomon Islands in 2010 and was officially recognised on 1 February 2011.

Territorial Leadership

Colonel Garth Niemand - Territorial Commander

Colonel Patricia (Patti) Niemand - Territorial President of Women's Ministries

Lieut-Colonel Tilitah Goa - Chief Secretary

Major Lennie Suave - Territorial Secretary of Women's Ministries

Territorial Headquarters

Angau Dr
National Capital District
Papua New Guinea

Postal address

PO Box 1323
Papua New Guinea

Contact us

Tel: [675] 325-5522/5507

Countries included in the territory: Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands

Languages in which the gospel is preached: English, Hiri Motu, Pidgin and 30 local languages

Periodicals: Tokaut