03 August 2021

A statement by Colonel Paul Main, Chief Secretary, United Kingdom Territory with the Republic of Ireland:

ON behalf of the Territorial Commander, and with the approval of the General, I am pleased to announce that, with effect from 1 September 2021, our territory will be known as the ‘United Kingdom and Ireland Territory’.

For the past 30 years the territory has been known as the ‘United Kingdom Territory with the Republic of Ireland’. This has given some the impression that our work in the Republic of Ireland is an afterthought rather than an integral part of the territory.

The new name is shorter and includes the four nations of the United Kingdom – England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. It is not a perfect description as the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man are part of the territory but not politically part of the United Kingdom or Ireland. However, they are also integral and vital parts of our territory.

The cost of the name change will be kept to a minimum. Stationery bearing the existing name can still be used for the next 12 months but all electronic communications should be updated to reflect the territory’s new name from 1 September 2021.

Colonel Paul Main
United Kingdom Territory with the Republic of Ireland

Tags: Europe, The General, News