In 1937 The Salvation Army spread from Léopoldville to Brazzaville, and in 1953 French Equatorial Africa (now Congo) became a separate command. Commissioner and Mrs Henri Becquet were the pioneers. The command was upgraded to a territory in December 1960. On 1 July 2018 the work in Gabon was officially recognised.

Corps and centres entered 2020 with great enthusiasm to work together according to the year's theme, 'Together Let Us Build on a Solid Foundation'.

Territorial leadership attended a two-day orientation meeting in financial management at IHQ in February. A Special Measures Implementation Plan was put in place to aid the new leaders in managing the territory. A five-year territorial strategic plan has been established and the first Territorial Governance Board meeting was held in July.

In June, territorial leaders Colonels Eugene and Brigitte Odile Bamanabio - supported by the Chief Secretary Lieut-Colonel Dieudonne Tsilulu and cabinet members - commissioned 35 cadets of the Messengers of the Kingdom Session, COVID-19 measures meant the ceremony was hosted at the training college with limited number of guests. 

The territory's largest division, Brazzaville 2 was divided, adding the newly formed Brazzaville 3, bringing the territory to a total of 10 divisions. 

The Women's Ministries work continues to grow under the leadership of Colonel Brigitte Odile Bamanabio, and has not been impeded by COVID-19.

Under the leadership of Sergeant Seraphin Edy Kanda, the Emergency and Natural Disaster Team has helped people on low incomes, supported clinics with protection material and distributed sanitation equipment and food in Congo and Gabon.


Territorial Leaders

Colonel Eugene Bamanabio - Territorial Commander (1 September 2019)

Colonel Brigitte Bamanabio - Territorial President for Women's Ministries

Lieut-Colonel Blaise Kombo - Chief Secretary (1 April 2021)

Lieut-Colonel Evelyne Kombo - Territorial Secretary for Women's Ministries


Territorial Headquarters

Rue de Reims,


République du Congo


Postal Address

BP 20,


République du Congo



Officers - 385 (active - 295 retired - 91)       Auxillary Captains - 2

Envoys - 41                 Cadets - 35              Employees - 172

Corps - 120                 Outposts - 121

Senior Soldiers - 25,176   Adherents - 3,812   Junior Soldiers - 13,026


Tel: +(242) 22 609 06 41


Countries included in the Territory: The Republic of Congo, Gabon

Languages in which the gospel is preached: French, Kikongo, Kituba, Lingala, Vili