Two Christian Mission converts, John Gore and Edward Saunders, pioneered Salvation Army operations on 5 September 1880 in Adelaide. The first Salvation Army officers sent to Australia were Captain and Mrs Thomas Sutherland, who officially began their appointment in Adelaide on 11 February 1881.

In 1921, the work in Australia was organised into two territories - Eastern and Southern - with headquarters in Sydney and Melbourne. On 1 December 2018, Australia reverted to one territory with headquarters in Melbourne.

Territorial Leadership

Commissioner Commissioner Miriam Gluyas - Territorial Commander

Colonel Winsome Merrett - Chief Secretary

Territorial Headquarters

95-99 Railway Road
Vic 3130

Contact us

Tel: [61] (03) 8878 4500